Connecticut IFTA State Tax: An Overview

Do you own a trucking business in the State of Connecticut? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.

It is of utmost importance that you file your Connecticut fuel tax report before the due deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. Renewal applications for existing IFTA accounts are mailed out in October and can be returned by mail. Here is how you can apply for a new account:

  • Apply by mail or online.
  • Pay $10 as the application fee.
  • You are going to need one set of decals per qualified vehicle.
  • Apply online for receiving decals within 2-3 days.
  • Temporary credentials are made available immediately.

Frequently asked questions

January, February, March: April 30

April, May, June: July 31

July, August, September: October 31

October, November, December: January 31

Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of Connecticut.

The base jurisdictions in Connecticut are required to audit at least 3% of the total IFTA accounts.

In case a due date falls on Saturday, Sunday, or a legal holiday, the next business day will be considered as the due date.

You can learn all about IFTA rules and regulations in the state of Connecticut on