Delaware IFTA State Tax: An Overview

Do you own a trucking business in the State of Delaware? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.

It is of utmost importance that you file your Delaware vehicle tax report before the due deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. Renewal applications for existing IFTA accounts are mailed out in November and can be returned by mail, online, or in person. Here is how you can apply for a new account:

  • Complete the application form and submit it to the Motor Carrier Services Section by mail or in person.
  • Pay $5 as Delaware vehicle registration fees.
  • You are going to need one set of decals per qualified vehicle.
  • Credentials will be mailed within 24 hours of approval.
  • You’ll receive them within 5-7 business days.

Frequently asked questions

January, February, March: April 30

April, May, June: July 31

July, August, September: October 31

October, November, December: January 31

Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of Delaware.

You can learn more about the IFTA rules and regulatons in the state of Delaware on

Advantages of IFTA include:

  • A single fuel tax license issued by the base jurisdiction authorizing travel in all IFTA jurisdictions
  • A quarterly tax report containing detailed operations in each of member jurisdictions will be submitted only to the base state.
  • Fuel tax audits are generally performed only by the base state.

The IFTA license is valid for a calendar year from January 1 through December 31.