Michigan IFTA State Tax: An Overview

Do you own a trucking business in the State of Michigan? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.

It is of utmost importance that you file your Michigan IFTA fuel tax report before the due deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. You can renew an existing IFTA account by mail or online. If you want to learn how to apply for IFTA in Michigan by setting up a new account, the next section is for you:

  • Submit your completed Michigan IFTA application form online.
  • No fee for decals.
  • You are going to need one set of decals per qualified vehicle.
  • Expect the decals within 30 days.
  • Get your Michigan IFTA permits online.

Frequently asked questions

January, February, March: April 30

April, May, June: July 31

July, August, September: October 31

October, November, December: January 31

Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of Michigan.

You can find the latest information about IFTA rules and regulations in Michigan on https://www.michigan.gov/taxes/business-taxes/ifta.

If you do not travel outside of Michigan and/or do not have vehicles exceeding 26,000lbs (GVW), you do NOT need IFTA.

You can use TruckSmartz to stay updated on the latest tax rates for all the jurisdictions that you travel in.