New Mexico

New Mexico IFTA State Tax: An Overview

Do you own a trucking business in the State of New Mexico? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.

It is of utmost importance that you file your New Mexico IFTA quarterly tax return before the due deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. Renewals of existing accounts can be completed by mail. Here is how you can get your New Mexico truck permit online:

  • Apply by mail or in person to the New Mexico Taxation & Revenue Department.
  • Pay $3.50 fee for each set of decals.
  • You are going to need one set of decals per qualified vehicle.
  • Credentials are mailed within 1-2 weeks.
  • In person applications result in same day decals.

Frequently asked questions

January, February, March: April 30

April, May, June: July 31

July, August, September: October 31

October, November, December: January 31

Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of New Mexico.

In New Mexico, the following commercial vehicles are exempt from IFTA licensure:

  • Recreational Vehicles
  • Government-Owned Vehicles

You can find more information about rules and regulations concerning IFTA accounts in New Mexico by visiting

Commercial motor vehicles are IFTA qualified if they are used, designed, or maintained for the interstate transportation of persons or property and:

  • Have two axles and a gross vehicle weight (GVW) or registered GVW exceeding 26,000 pounds; or
  • Have three or more axles, regardless of weight; or
  • Are used in combination with a trailer, for a combined GVW or registered GVW in excess of 26,000 pounds.