Idaho IFTA State Tax: An Overview

Do you own a trucking business in the State of Idaho? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.

It is of utmost importance that you file your Idaho IFTA fuel tax report before the due deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. You can renew an existing IFTA account by applying online or by mail. If you want to learn how to apply for IFTA in Idaho by setting up a new account, the next section is for you:

  • Apply by mail, fax, online, port of entry, or in person to the Idaho State Tax Commission.
  • Pay $10 as the application fee.
  • There is an additional $0.60 fee for each set of decals.
  • You are going to need one set of decals per qualified vehicle.
  • In person applications result in same day decals.

Frequently asked questions

January, February, March: April 30

April, May, June: July 31

July, August, September: October 31

October, November, December: January 31

Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of Idaho.

You can learn more about IFTA rules and regulations in Idaho on

An Idaho-based interstate motor carrier qualifies for an Idaho IFTA license if it travels in Idaho and at least one other IFTA jurisdiction and operates IFTA-qualified motor vehicles.

In the state of Idaho, intrastate unscheduled air transportation for hire of freight and passengers are usually considered to be taxable, although interstate transportation services are considered to be exempt.