West Virginia

West Virginia IFTA State Tax: An Overview

Do you own a trucking business in the State of West Virginia? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.

It is of utmost importance that you file your West Virginia vehicle tax report before the due deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. You can renew an existing IFTA account by mail. If you want to learn how to submit your WV motor fuel tax refund application by setting up a new account, the next section is for you:

  • Submit your WV motor fuel tax refund application by mail, fax, or in person to the Division of Motor Vehicles.
  • Pay $5 for each set of decals.
  • You are going to need one set of decals per qualified vehicle.
  • Expect the decals in 3-5 business days.
  • Apply in person for same day temporary decals.

Frequently asked questions

January, February, March: April 30

April, May, June: July 31

July, August, September: October 31

October, November, December: January 31

Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of West Virginia.

You can find the latest information about IFTA rules and regulations in West Virginia on https://transportation.wv.gov/DMV/Motor-Carriers/Pages/IRP-IFTA.aspx.

A fuel tax account, IFTA license and IFTA decals are required if you operate interstate vehicles.

You can apply for IFTA stickers in WV by submitting your application to the Division of Motor Vehicles.