North Dakota

North Dakota IFTA State Tax: An Overview

Do you own a trucking business in the State of North Dakota? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.

It is of utmost importance that you file your motor fuel tax return before the due North Dakota tax filing deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. You can complete your North Dakota vehicle registration renewal by mail or online. If you want to learn how to apply for IFTA in setting up a new account and, the next section is for you:

  • Submit your completed application form to Department of Transportation by mail or in person.
  • Pay $20 as application fee.
  • There is $5 cab card fee and $1 fee for each set of decals.
  • You will receive your decals within 6-8 weeks.
  • Apply in person for same day decals.

Frequently asked questions

January, February, March: April 30

April, May, June: July 31

July, August, September: October 31

October, November, December: January 31

Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of North Dakota.

You can find the latest information about IFTA rules and regulations in North Dakota on

You can generate your quarterly IFTA return report using TruckSmartz.

Recreational vehicles are vehicles such as motor homes, pickup trucks with attached campers and buses when used exclusively for personal pleasure by an individual. Recreational vehicles do not need to register for North Dakota IFTA.