Mississippi IFTA State Tax: An Overview

Do you own a trucking business in the State of Mississippi? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.

It is of utmost importance that you file your Mississippi motor fuel tax return before the due deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. You can renew an existing IFTA account by mail or online. If you want to learn how to apply for IFTA in setting up a new account and understand Mississippi filing requirements, the next section is for you:

  • Submit your completed Mississippi IFTA application form to the Mississippi State Tax Commission by mail or in person.
  • You must have 3 years of tax returns filed and paid, alon with your IRP.
  • No decal fee.
  • The credentials will be mailed out within 24 hours.
  • Apply in person for same day decals.

Frequently asked questions

January, February, March: April 30

April, May, June: July 31

July, August, September: October 31

October, November, December: January 31

Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of Mississippi.

You can find the latest information about IFTA rules and regulations in Mississippi on https://www.dor.ms.gov/.

You can generate your quarterly IFTA return report using TruckSmartz.

Recreational vehicles are vehicles such as motor homes, pickup trucks with attached campers and buses when used exclusively for personal pleasure by an individual. Recreational vehicles do not need to register for Mississippi IFTA.