Tennessee IFTA State Tax: An Overview

Do you own a trucking business in the State of Tennessee? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.

It is of utmost importance that you submit your IFTA quarterly report form before the due deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. You can submit your renewal application in person or by mail. If you want to learn how to apply for IFTA in Tennessee by setting up a new account, the next section is for you:

  • Submit your completed Tennessee IFTA application by mail or in person to the Department of Revenue.
  • No application or decal fee.
  • You are going to need one set of decals per qualified vehicle.
  • Expect the decals in 1-2 weeks.
  • Apply in person for same day decals.

Frequently asked questions

January, February, March: April 30

April, May, June: July 31

July, August, September: October 31

October, November, December: January 31

Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of Tennessee.

You can find the latest information about IFTA rules and regulations in Tennessee on https://revenue.support.tn.gov/hc/en-us/sections/200543145-International-Fuel-Tax-Agreement-IFTA.

The next business day is considered the filing due date in case the due date falls on a weekend or a legal holiday.

Incomplete applications result in delayed processing as they are returned by the Department of Revenue.