Louisiana IFTA State Tax: An Overview

Do you own a trucking business in the State of Louisiana? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.

It is of utmost importance that you file your Louisiana IFTA fuel tax report before the due deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. You can renew an existing IFTA account by mail or online. If you want to learn how to apply for IFTA in Louisiana by setting up a new account, the next section is for you:

  • Submit your completed Louisiana IFTA application online or in person.
  • Pay $35 as application fee and $2 for each set of decals.
  • You are going to need one set of decals per qualified vehicle.
  • Expect the decals within 7-10 business days.
  • Apply in person for same day decals.

Frequently asked questions

January, February, March: April 30

April, May, June: July 31

July, August, September: October 31

October, November, December: January 31

Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of Louisiana.

You can find the latest information about IFTA rules and regulations in Louisiana on http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/.

Yes, you can generate your quarterly IFTA reports in Louisiana using TruckSmartz. In addition to that, you can also use our trucking software to manage all the aspects of your trucking business including but not limited to managing expenses and payrolls.

IFTA stickers in Louisiana are issued by the Department of Revenue.