Oregon IFTA State Tax: An Overview

Do you own a trucking business in the State of Oregon? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.

It is of utmost importance that you file your Oregon vehicle tax report before the due deadlines as late filing and underpayment may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. You can renew an existing IFTA account by mail or online. If you want to learn how to apply for IFTA in Oregon by setting up a new account, the next section is for you:

  • Submit your application for Oregon IFTA permit by fax, mail, online, or in person to the Corporate Commission.
  • Pay $2 for each set of decals.
  • You are going to need one set of decals per qualified vehicle.
  • Expect the decals within 5-7 business days.
  • Apply in person for same day decals.

Frequently asked questions

January, February, March: April 30

April, May, June: July 31

July, August, September: October 31

October, November, December: January 31

Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of Oregon.

You can find the latest information about IFTA rules and regulations in Oregon on https://www.oregon.gov/odot/MCT/Pages/ReportYourTaxes.aspx.

The IFTA license must be carried in the vehicle at all times. If there is more than one vehicle, copies of the IFTA license should be made and placed in each vehicle operating under the IFTA license.

A qualified motor vehicle means a motor vehicle used, designed, or maintained for transportation of persons or property and:

1. having two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds or 11,7191 kilograms; or.

2. having three or more axles regardless of weight; or.

3. is used in combination, when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms gross vehicle or registered gross vehicle weight. Qualified motor vehicle does not include recreational vehicles.