Do you own a trucking business in the State of Minnesota? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.
It is of utmost importance that you file your Minnesota IFTA quarterly return before the due deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. You can renew an existing IFTA account by mail or online. If you want to learn how to apply for IFTA in Minnesota by setting up a new account, the next section is for you:
Submit your completed Minnesota IFTA application form to the Division of Motor Carriers by mail or in person.
January, February, March: April 30
April, May, June: July 31
July, August, September: October 31
October, November, December: January 31
Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of Minnesota.
You can find the latest information about IFTA rules and regulations in Minnesota on https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/irp-ifta/Pages/default.aspx.
Yes, interest applies to each jurisdiction for underpayment of tax due irrespective of whether there is a net refund or deduction.
The licensing fee in Minnesota is $2.50 for each set of decals.