Vermont IFTA State Tax: An Overview

Do you own a trucking business in the State of Vermont? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.

It is of utmost importance that you file your Vermont fuel tax refund form before the due deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. You can renew an existing IFTA account by mail or in person. If you want to learn how to apply for IFTA account in Vermont by setting up a new account, the next section is for you:

  • Apply by mail, fax, or in person by submitting your Vermont state IFTA fuel tax application to the Department of Motor Vehicles.
  • No fee for decals.
  • You are going to need one set of decals per qualified vehicle.
  • Credentials are mailed within 3-4 business days.
  • In person applications result in same day decals.

Frequently asked questions

January, February, March: April 30

April, May, June: July 31

July, August, September: October 31

October, November, December: January 31

Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of Vermont.

Same day decals in Vermont are only available for those who apply in person.

In addition to helping you generate quarterly IFTA reports efficiently, TruckSmartz also makes managing various aspects of your business easier.

3% of the total IFTA accounts in Vermont are audited in a calendar year.