Nebraska IFTA State Tax: An Overview

Do you own a trucking business in the State of Nebraska? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.

It is of utmost importance that you file your Nebraska IFTA quarterly tax return before the due deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. You can renew an existing IFTA account by mail, or in person. If you want to learn how to apply for IFTA in Nebraska by setting up a new account, the next section is for you:

  • Apply by mail or in person by submitting your Nebraska IFTA application online to the Motor Carrier Services.
  • Pay $10 fee for first vehicle and an extra $1 for each additional vehicle.
  • You are going to need one set of decals per qualified vehicle.
  • Credentials are mailed within 5-7 business days.
  • In person applications result in same day decals.

Frequently asked questions

January, February, March: April 30

April, May, June: July 31

July, August, September: October 31

October, November, December: January 31

Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of Nebraska.

Carriers who travel only within Nebraska do not need an IFTA license.

You can find all the relevant information on

To avoid penalty for late filing, the tax returns must be postmarked no later than midnight on the date indicated.