Do you own a trucking business in the State of Massachusetts? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.
Massachusetts Department of Revenue requires you to file your IFTA quarterly fuel tax return before the due deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. Existing IFTA accounts can be renewed by applying online or by mail. If you want to learn how to apply for IFTA in Massachusetts by setting up a new account, the next section is for you:
January, February, March: April 30
April, May, June: July 31
July, August, September: October 31
October, November, December: January 31
Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of Massachusetts.
You can find the latest information about IFTA rules and regulations in Massachusetts on https://www.mass.gov/administrative-procedure/ap-112-motor-carrier-excise-tax-gl-c-64f.
For good cause, the Commissioner may grant a reasonable extension of time for filing a return. Requests must be in writing to the Massachusetts Department of Revenue.
The penalty for failure to file a tax report when due is the greater of fifty dollars ($50.00) or ten percent (10%) of the net tax due to all member jurisdictions.