Kansas IFTA State Tax: An Overview

Do you own a trucking business in the State of Kansas? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.

It is of utmost importance that you file your Kansas motor fuel tax report before the due deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. You can renew an existing IFTA account by mail or online. If you want to learn how to apply for IFTA in Kansas by setting up a new account, the next section is for you:

  • Submit your application for Kansas IFTA account in person or by mail to the Kansas Department of Revenue.
  • Pay $10 initial fee and an additional $1 for each set of decals.
  • You are going to need one set of decals per qualified vehicle.
  • Expect the decals within 5-7 business days.
  • Apply in person for same day decals.

Frequently asked questions

January, February, March: April 30

April, May, June: July 31

July, August, September: October 31

October, November, December: January 31

Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of Kansas.

You can find the latest information about IFTA rules and regulations in Kansas on https://ksrevenue.gov/.

3% of the IFTA accounts are audited in Kansas every year.

A qualified motor vehicle is required to register for a Kansas IFTA account:

  • Two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight exceeding 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms; or
  • Having three or more axles regardless of weight; or
  • Is used in combination, when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms gross vehicle or registered gross vehicle weight.