Virginia IFTA State Tax: An Overview

Do you own a trucking business in the State of Virginia? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.

It is of utmost importance that you file your VA IFTA quarterly tax return form before the due deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. You can renew an existing IFTA account by mail, online, or in person. If you want to learn how to apply for IFTA/IRP account in Virginia by setting up a new account, the next section is for you:

  • Apply by mail, fax, or in person by submitting your application to the Department of Motor Vehicles.
  • Pay $10 for each set of decals.
  • You are going to need one set of decals per qualified vehicle.
  • Credentials are mailed within 3-5 business days.
  • In person applications result in same day decals.

Frequently asked questions

January, February, March: April 30

April, May, June: July 31

July, August, September: October 31

October, November, December: January 31

Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of Virginia.

Carriers who travel only within Virginia do not need an IFTA license.

You can find all the relevant information on

To avoid penalty for late filing, the tax returns must be postmarked no later than midnight on the date indicated.