New Hampshire

New Hampshire IFTA State Tax: An Overview

Do you own a trucking business in the State of New Hampshire? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.

It is of utmost importance that you file your New Hampshire fuel tax report before the due deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. Renewal applications for existing IFTA accounts can be completed in person or by mail. Here is how you can apply for a new account:

  • Apply to the Department of Safety in person
  • Pay $10 per set of decals.
  • You are going to need one set of decals per qualified vehicle.
  • You’ll be issued a tempoary decal.
  • Temporary decal can be used until you receive your decals.

Frequently asked questions

January, February, March: April 30

April, May, June: July 31

July, August, September: October 31

October, November, December: January 31

Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of New Hampshire.

The base jurisdictions in New Hampshire are required to audit at least 3% of the total IFTA accounts.

New Hampshire filing requirements include:

  • IFTA Application
  • W-9
  • UCR (Unified Carrier Registration
  • Active Interstate DOT#
  • Copy of current registration
  • Secretary of State – Needs to be up to date. If account is in business name, the name must be registered with the State of NH.

You can learn all about IFTA rules and regulations in the state of New Hampshire on