Maine IFTA State Tax: An Overview

Do you own a trucking business in the State of Maine? It’s important you register the vehicles in your fleet for IFTA filing to avoid penalty. Let us guide you further.

It is of utmost importance that you file your Maine quarterly fuel tax report before the due deadlines as late filing may result in a penalty of $50 or 10% of the net tax liability. You can renew an existing IFTA account by mail or online. If you want to learn how to apply for IFTA in Maine by setting up a new account, the next section is for you:

  • Submit your completed Maine IFTA application by fax, mail, email, or in person to the Motor Carrier Services.
  • Pay $5 as the fee for each set of decals.
  • You are going to need one set of decals per qualified vehicle.
  • Expect the decals in 5-7 business days.
  • Apply in person for same day decals.

Frequently asked questions

January, February, March: April 30

April, May, June: July 31

July, August, September: October 31

October, November, December: January 31

Yes, you would still need to file a ‘zero’ report in the state of Maine.

You can find the latest information about IFTA rules and regulations in Maine on

To cancel your IFTA account, the following materials must be returned to the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, Fuel Tax Unit:

1. All decals issued to you and the current fuel license

2. All outstanding reports and/or delinquent tax payments. If your account is already suspended, the reinstatement fee will be required before your IFTA account can be cancelled.

Decals are to be displayed on each side of the cab.